FCSAA announces 2020-21 Athletic, Academic Award Winners

Linton Brown led Indian River State to its first NJCAA Tournament berth since 1975 (photo courtesy of Indian River State College)
Linton Brown led Indian River State to its first NJCAA Tournament berth since 1975 (photo courtesy of Indian River State College)

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (July 7, 2021) – The Florida College System Activities Association (FCSAA) has announced the winners of its 2020-21 Athletic and Academic Awards.

Nominees for Male and Female Athletes of the Year were comprised of each FCSAA-sanctioned sport's Player of the Year recipient, as well as any nominees submitted from non-FCSAA sanctioned sports such as swimming and diving, golf, soccer, and track and field.

Likewise, all sanctioned sports selected a Scholar-Athlete of the Year who were considered for the statewide award, in addition to nominees from non-sanctioned sports. Nominees must have accumulated 48 credit hours with a minimum 3.30 GPA and completed at least three full-time terms, including at least one at a FCSAA instituion. Citizenship, community service and athletic prowess were taken into consideration. 

Male and Female Academic Teams of the Year for small (10 or fewer participants) and large (11+ participants) rosters were also selected. 

All awards were voted on by the Council for Athletic Affairs' Executive Board. 

Male Athlete of the Year

Linton Brown, Indian River State College, basketball

Linton Brown
  • NJCAA First-team All-America
  • FCSAA Player of the Year
  • 2021 stats: 18.4 ppg, 5.0 rpg, 1.4 apg, 51.4 FG%, 48.3 3FG%, 72.3 FT%
  • Led Indian River State to Southern Conference Championship and appearance in FCSAA State Championship Game
  • Helped the Pioneers earn at-large berth to NJCAA Tournament, their first trip to Hutch since 1975, where they advanced to the National Quarterfinals

Female Athlete of the Year

Minori Nagano, Seminole State College, golf

Minori Nagano
  • NJCAA Individual Champion (won by 9 strokes)
  • NJCAA First-Team All-America
  • Qualified for the U.S. Women's Open Championship
  • 2021 stroke average of 71.5 (.5 below par)
  • Six tournament wins in 2021, including two Division I and three Division II tournaments
  • Ranked in Top 20 nationally among all collegiate golfers


Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Spencer Rich, Daytona State College, baseball

Spencer Rich
  • Bill Tuten Scholar-Athlete Award winner
  • 3.86 GPA
  • Major: Mechanical Engineering
  • Two-time NJCAA All-Academic and FCSAA All-Academic
  • 2021 First-team FCSAA All-State
  • 2021 Mid-Florida Conference Player of the Year
  • Led Region VIII in batting (.438) and slugging (.821) and was fourth in on-base percentage (.518)
  • Volunteer activities included SPARC of Volusia County, American Heart Association Heart Walk, camps for underprivileged youth in Volusia County

Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Domenica Zamora, St. Petersburg College, basketball

  • Sandi Miller Scholar-Athlete Award winner
  • 3.92 GPA
  • Major: Biomedical Science
  • Two-time NJCAA All-Academic and FCSAA All-Academic
  • 2021 NJCAA Third-team All-America
  • 2021 Central Conference Player of the Year
  • 2021 FCSAA All-State
  • Third in Region VIII in assists (5.2 apg) and also averaged 14.2 points and 5.5 rebounds
  • Volunteer activities included MLK community food drive and Salvation Army Soup Kitchen

Male Academic Team of the Year (more than 10 participants)

Daytona State College baseball

Daytona State College Baseball

Team GPA: 3.86

Team members: Kyle Abbott, Kayden Anderson, Dominick Berardi, Austin Brinling, Aedan Celestino, Fletcher Cline, Ben Farris, JJ Finn, Tyson Hardin, Bryce Holmes, Devin Hovsepian, Tim Kudlinski, Brody Maynard, Sean McArdle, Logan McClure, Drew McGuckin, Chance Moore, Mason Neller, Carter Page, Alexander Rich, Spencer Rich, Danny Rodriguez, Bobby Sparling, Carson Spradlin, Ryan Taylor, Jace Wilson

Male Academic Team of the Year (10 or fewer participants)

Tallahassee Community College outdoor track & field

Tallahassee Community College Men's Outdoor Track & Field

 Team GPA: 3.48

Team members: Rodolph Adonis, Bryce Bass, Mat Maier, Shawn Marcum, Tristen Owens, Ke'Adre Thompson, Nasir Washington

Female Academic Team of the Year (more than 10 participants)

Daytona State College volleyball

Daytona State College Volleyball

Team GPA: 3.71

Team members: Derionah Abner, Joana Sophia Aebi, Essence Bell, Svea Frobel, Simone Jackson, Milica Pejovic, Sarah Stratton, Kaitlyn Thompson, Victoria Zarazel, Rita Zecchin, Jenna Zimmerman

Female Academic Team of the Year (10 or fewer participants)

Hillsborough Community College tennis

Hillsborough Community College Tennis

 Team GPA: 3.74

Team members: Natana Rodriguez-Fernandez, Isadora Marcondes de Oliveira, Magda Tuells, Ana Villalvazo-Farrera, Viktoryia Zhadzinksiaya, Mbali Langa, Olivia Pezo, Lungile Ntuli