FCSAA announces 2019-20 Award Winners

Jarryd Baxter
Photo courtesy of Indian River State College

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (June 4, 2020) – The Florida College System Activities Association (FCSAA) has announced the winners of its 2019-20 Athlete and Scholar-Athlete awards.

Nominees for Male and Female Athletes of the Year were comprised of each FCSAA-sanctioned sport's Player of the Year recipient, as well as any nominees submitted from non-FCSAA sanctioned sports such as swimming and diving.

Likewise, all sanctioned sports have a Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award, and the recipients automatically qualified for the overall state award, however, student-athletes from non-sanctioned sports were also nominated. Nominees must be a second-season participant and have completed at least three full-time terms, including at least one at a FCSAA instituion, with a minimum 3.30 GPA. Citizenship and athletic prowess are taken into consideration. 

Male and Female Academic Teams of the Year were also announced. 

All awards were voted on by the Council for Athletic Affairs' Executive Board. 

Male Athlete of the Year: Jarryd Baxter, Indian River State College, swimming

Jarryd Baxter

2020 NJCAA Male Swimmer of the Year, 4-time NJCAA All-American, 4-time NJCAA Champion, led team to NJCAA Championship; for career, 11-time NJCAA All-American, 11-time NJCAA Champion (7 individual, 4 relays), 11-time College Swim Coaches' Association of America All-American; NJCAA Record Holder in 500 Free, 1000 Free, 200 Back, 200 IM; led team to consecutive national championships


Female Athlete of the Year: Ahlana Smith, Gulf Coast State College, basketball

Ahlana Smith

NJCAA Player of the Year, First-team NJCAA All-America, WBCA All-America, FCSAA Player of the Year, FCSAA All-State, Panhandle Conference Player of the Year, First-team All-Panhandle; 2019-20 stats: 20.3 ppg, 4.8 rpg, 2.0 apg, .439 FG%; led team to FCSAA Runners-up and berth in NJCAA Tournament



Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Jordan Briones, Florida State College at Jacksonville, baseball

Jordan Briones Bill Tuten Scholar-Athlete Award winner, 4.0 GPA; as a freshman, was named All-Academic by Mid-Florida Conference and FCSAA, First-team NJCAA All-Academic


Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Gabriella Tolento, Indian River State College, diving

Gabriella Tolento 4.0 GPA; as a freshman, was named All-Academic by the Southern Conference and FCSAA, First-team NJCAA All-Academic; two-time College Swim Coaches' Association Academic All-America, two-time NJCAA Diver of the Year, 4-time NJCAA All-American, member of PTK, 2020 class of distinguished scholars


Male Academic Team of the Year: Daytona State College baseball

Daytona State College Baseball
  • 3.85 Team GPA
  • all 26 student-athletes were 3.30 GPA or higher to earn FCSAA All-Academic honors


Female Academic Team of the Year: Daytona State College golf

Daytona State College Women's Golf
  • 3.73 team GPA
  • Five of the seven earned a cumulative GPA of 3.65 or higher