Miami Dade captures DI FCSAA Championship

Miami Dade College Volleyball
Miami Dade College Volleyball

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. (March 28, 2021) - Miami Dade College captured the Division I FCSAA State Championship with a 3-0 win over Florida SouthWestern State College.

Both teams advanced to the DI Southeast District Volleyball Tournament, which will be hosted by Florida State College at Jacksonville on April 2, and will be joined by Polk State College and District X representative Spartanburg Methodist College.

The Sharks ran through the tournament without a blemish, beginning with straight-set victories over Eastern Florida State College and Santa Fe College. In the winner's bracket final, Miami Dade outlasted Florida SouthWestern in a five-set thriller. 

That loss forced Florida SouthWestern to beat Polk State College, which it did in straight sets, in order to earn the rematch with Miami Dade. 

Leading the way for Miami Dade was Tournament MVP Paola Pimentel. She was joined on the all-tournament team by teammates Erika Asencio, Camila De La Rosa and Janelly Ceopa. Other all-tournament team members included: Analei Perea, Eastern Florida State; Samantha Caglianone, Santa Fe; Mallory Roney, Indian River State; Suared Molina, Polk State; Maria Munoz, Polk State; Julia De Sa, Florida SouthWestern; Kianie Cummings, Florida SouthWestern; and Maria Petkova, Florida SouthWestern.

Miami Dade's Kiko Benoit was named the Mary Andre Coach of the Year.