Unbeaten Miami Dade claims FCSAA Volleyball Championship

Miami Dade College Volleyball
Photo courtesy of Tom Hagerty, Polk State College

BRADENTON, Fla. (November 6, 2017) - Miami Dade College kept its undefeated record intact en route to repeating as FCSAA State Volleyball Champions.

Miami Dade ran its record to a perfect 30-0 with four consecutive victories at the Bradenton Civic Center. The Sharks knocked off Hillsborough Community College in four sets to open tournament play then punched its ticket to the NJCAA Tournament with a straight set victory over Polk State College. 

Miami Dade won the winner's bracket final over St. Petersburg, 3-0, then beat Polk State a second time on Sunday to claim its 44th state championship. 

After falling to Miami Dade on day one of the tournament, Polk State won twice on day two to claim its own berth to the national tournament in Hutchinson, Kan. The Eagles beat the College of Central Florida (3-0) and Hillsborough (3-0) to move into Sunday's championship round, where it beat St. Petersburg College in the loser's bracket final. 

St. Petersburg will join Miami Dade and Polk State in Kansas as part of the 16-team field. The Titans advanced to the national tournament by virtue of defeating Palm Beach State College (3-0) and Santa Fe College (3-0) on the first day of the tournament. 

Miami Dade's Massiel Matos was named the Tournament Most Valuable Player while the Sharks' Kiko Benoit was named FCSAA Volleyball Coach of the Year. 

Matos was joined on the all-tournament team by Rafaella Bonifacio, Miami Dade; Cahiara Bosetti, Polk State; Sun Wenting, Miami Dade; Anilise Fitzi, Polk State; Kathya Garcia, Polk State; Amanda Filippo, St. Petersburg; Camila Hernandez, Miami Dade; Ana Carolina De Almeida Costa, St. Petersburg; Manuela Vargas, Polk State; Kirah Williams-Shepard, Hillsborough and Tiziana Baumrukova, Miami Dade.