ASA Miami, State College of Florida capture tennis titles

State College of Florida, 2016 FCSAA Women's Tennis State Champions
State College of Florida, 2016 FCSAA Women's Tennis State Champions

ALTAMONTE SPRINGS, Fla. (April 9, 2016) - ASA College Miami won the NJCAA Region 8 Women's Tennis Championship while State College of Florida brought home the FCSAA State Championship.

Both schools, along with FCSAA Runners-up St. Petersburg College, will advance to the NJCAA Division I Women's Tennis Championship in Tyler, Texas, May 7-13. 

A strong showing in singles play propelled the Silver Storm to the Region 8 Championship. 

ASA captured five of six singles championships and placed second in Flight 1 while also winning two of three flights in doubles play and finishing second in the other. 

State College of Florida's Maria Medina won the #1 singles championship and was named FCSAA State Player of the Year, knocking off ASA's Macarena Olivares, 7-5 and 7-5.

ASA's singles champions included Megane Bianco (Flight 2), Tyler Smith (Flight 3), Ming Xiu Du (Flight 4), Simone Pratt (Flight 5) and Mikala Lowrance (Flight 6). 

The doubles teams of Du & Smith won the Flight 2 championship while Pratt and Christine Roller won the Flight 3 crown.

Medina and State College of Florida teammate Iulia Sergheeva won the Flight 1 doubles title, knocking off ASA's Bianco and Oliveras, 6-4 and 6-3.

Medina and Sergheeva were two of six players named FCSAA All-State. They were joined by SCF teammate Amiena Houston, St. Petersburg's Kokoro Chisnaki and Anna Olsen and Broward College's Marie Jouille.

State College of Florida's Clayton Taylor was named FCSAA Coach of the Year. 

State College of Florida's Casey O'Toole received the Vicki Schnurr Scholar-Athlete Award.