Region 8 announces women's soccer honors

Photo courtesy of Eastern Florida State College
Photo courtesy of Eastern Florida State College

Release courtesy of Mark DeCotis, Eastern Florida State College

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (November 11, 2014) - Eastern Florida State College's Abbie Camargo and Jamie Perriello are the NJCAA Region 8 Co-Most Valuable Players for the 2014 women's soccer season.

Also, Eastern Florida State head coach Jeff Carr was named Region 8 Coach of the Year for the fourth straight time. In addition, Eastern Florida State placed four players on the Region 8 first-team and four on the second-team.

Camargo, a freshman midfielder from Ocala, Florida and Trinity Catholic High, scored 10 goals and recorded a school-record 15 assists this season. Perriello, a sophomore midfielder from Boca Raton, Florida and Boca Raton Community High, won the MVP award in 2013. She finished this season with a team-high 11 goals and added three assists.

The Region 8 first-team selections are:

  • Eastern Florida State: Defender Samantha Solis; midfielder Bri Camargo; goalkeeper Asmara Holmes; midfielder Kaila Henson
  • Polk State College: Hannah Davis; Sarah McKinney; Kellee Brown; Christina Gutierrez
  • Broward College: Caitlin Crespo; Tori Williams; Guiselle Melendez.

The Region 8 second-team selections are:

  • Eastern Florida State: Defender Mariah Lewis; forward Kassidee Davis; forward Helen Ramsey; goalkeeper Denise Rodriguez
  • Polk State: Kelsey Lewis; Jada Humphries; Kara Quintanilla; Alexis Arroyo
  • Broward: Ashley Green; Shinell McCalla.

Eastern Florida State defeated Polk State and Broward three times each to win its fourth straight Region 8 championship.

Eastern Florida State also won the NJCAA District H title to advance to the national tournament for the third straight season.