Florida SouthWestern wins FCSAA softball title

FSW Softball
Photo courtesy of Tom Hagerty, Polk State College

VERO BEACH, Fla. (April 30, 2017) - Florida SouthWestern State College won its first state softball championship on Sunday, knocking off Chipola College, 4-0.

Both teams will advance to the NJCAA Division I Softball Championship in St. George, Utah, later this month. 

Florida SouthWestern swept its way to the championship, going a perfect 5-0 over the weekend, outscoring opponents 34-4. The Buccaneers opened tournament play with a 9-0 win over Tallahassee Community College, then defeated Daytona State College (12-2), the College of Central Florida (5-2) and Seminole State College (4-0) to lock up the District G Championship and a berth to nationals - and earn a spot in the state championship game.

Meanwhile, Chipola fell into the loser's bracket after splitting two games on Friday, but the Indians went 3-0 on Saturday to move into Sunday's final round of play. 

Chipola avenged Friday's 1-0 loss to Central Florida, defeating the Patriots 4-2, then beat Seminole State to earn the District H Championship and a berth to St. George. 

Florida SouthWestern's Christian Quinn was named the tournament's Most Valuable Player. Four Buccaneer teammates joined her on the all-tournament team: Molly Roark, Courtney Gettins, Mikayla Werahiko and Mikenzie Vaughn. 

Also named to the all-tournament team were: Tori Robinson (Northwest Florida State College), Ashley Morris (Chipola College), Caeley Nix (College of Central Florida), Michalyn Bingham (Indian River State College), Jordan Davis (Seminole State College), Riley Gore (Daytona State College), Morgan Goree (Chipola College), Kyra Gipson (Seminole State College), Jenna Rodelo (College of Central Florida) and Alexis Grampp (Chipola College).