NWF State, Gulf Coast State claim state basketball championships

Photo courtesy of the College of Central Florida
Photo courtesy of the College of Central Florida

OCALA, Fla. (March 5, 2016) - The NJCAA Region 8/FCSAA State Men's and Women's Basketball Tournaments crowned its champions on Saturday night.

The men crowned its champ first on Saturday and it was Northwest Florida State College who won its second straight title, defeating Tallahassee Community College, 81-76. 

With the win, the Raiders will advance to the NJCAA Division I Men's Basketball Championship in Hutchinson, Kan., where it will have the opportunity to defends its national title. 

Raider freshman Jared Wilson-Frame was named the tournament's Most Valuable Player. 

In Saturday's nightcap, Gulf Coast State College defeated Northwest Florida State College, 76-56, to win its ninth state championship under head coach Roonie Scovel. 

The Lady Commodores will head to Lubbock, Texas, the new site of the NJCAA Division I Women's Basketball Championship, as will Northwest Florida State. 

The Raiders punched their ticket as a zone qualifier by upsetting Chipola College in Friday's semifinal round. 

Gulf Coast State's Kristina King was named the tournament's Most Valuable Player. 

FCSAA/NJCAA Region VIII All-Tournament Team

Dondre Duffus, St. Petersburg; Eddy Polanco, Central Florida; C.J. Jackson, Eastern Florida State; Troy Simons, Polk State; Joseph Williams-Powell, Palm Beach State; Derrick Clayton, Palm Beach State; Brandon Maxwell, Daytona State; Daryl Edwards, Northwest Florida State; Deion Bute, Tallahassee; Shadell Millinghaus, Northwest Florida State; Rashad Lewis, Tallahassee; Jared Wilson-Frame, Northwest Florida State.

Most Valuable Player: Jared Wilson-Frame, Northwest Florida State
Tournament Coach of the Year: Steve DeMeo, Northwest Florida State

FCSAA/NJCAA Region VIII All-Tournament Team

Rayden Wade, Santa Fe; Trudy Walker, Eastern Florida State; Loshaveon Jones, Daytona State; Nicole Jimenez, Broward; Aisha Edwards, Chipola; Cynthia Petke, Chipola; Shami Goodman, Northwest Florida State; Britney Snowden, Northwest Florida State; Audrey Caron-Goudreau, Gulf Coast State; Maria Morales-Castro, Gulf Coast State; Amanda Paschal, Gulf Coast State; Kristina King, Gulf Coast State.

Most Valuable Player: Kristina King, Gulf Coast State
Roonie Scovel Tournament Coach of the Year: Roonie Scovel, Gulf Coast State