Indian River State sweeps swimming & diving national championships

Photo courtesy of Indian River State College
Photo courtesy of Indian River State College

Releases courtesy of Indian River State College and the NJCAA.

NJCAA Championship Results

BUFFALO, N.Y. (March 8, 2015) - The NJCAA's 2015 Swimming and Diving National Championships came to a close with both the Indian River State College men’s and women’s teams crowned National Champions. 

In all, Indian River State won 38 of the 40 events contested, with the men having a clean sweep this year, going 20-for-20.

Stefan Stojmenovic set new NJCAA records in the 100 backstroke, 100 butterfly and 200 backstroke, and was part of two record-breaking relay teams. He was joined by Craig Emslie, Shota Nakano and Adam Wise in the 400 medley relay; Stojmenovic, Emslie, Wise and Quinn Poto made up the 800 free relay squad.

Barbara Caraballo set a new NJCAA record in the 200 individual medley, and Ashley Wright set a new NJCAA record in the 3 meter diving.

Indian River State also claimed the following individual honors:

  • Female Swimmer of the Year: Barbara Caraballo 
  • Male Swimmer of the Year: Stefan Stojmenovic 
  • Female Diver of the Year: Ashley Wright
  • Male Diver of the Year: Zach Duval
  • Men's Coach of the Year: Sion Brinn
  • Diving Coach of the Year: David Suba

The victories extended Indian River State's winning streak to 41 consecutive wins. The Pioneers currently holds title to the longest unbroken U.S. championship-winning streak in any sport at the collegiate level. At the meet, the IRSC Men’s Team secured its 41st straight National Swimming and Diving Championship title. The Women’s Team brought home their 37th overall title and extended their consecutive titles to 34.

The NJCAA Swimming and Diving Championships will next return to Indian River State College in Fort Pierce for the 2016 meet.