Indian River State Swimming & Diving splits with FAU

Photo courtesy of Indian River State College
Photo courtesy of Indian River State College

Release courtesy of Sion Brinn, Indian River State College

FT. PIERCE, Fla. (February 3, 2015) - The defending NJCAA champions Indian River State College competed in its final dual meet of the season when they traveled to Boca Raton, Fla., to take on Florida Atlantic University. 

The men’s team put on an impressive performance with wins in 12 of the 14 swimming events. Leading the way for the men were Matt Nielsen (1000 and 500 free), Bryce Timonera (100 back and 100 fly), Craig Emslie (100 and 200 breast), Stefan Stojmenovic (50 free and 200 back), David Zarb (1m and 3m diving), Rawley Davis (200 fly), and Quinn Poti (200 IM).

Also winning were the 200 medley relay team (Stojmenovic, Emslie, Nakano, Emslie), and the 400 free relay team (Timonera, Emslie, Wise, Stojmenovic). Season best times for the Indian River State team came from Stojmenovics’ time of 1:47.82 in the 200 back, 22.35 in the 50 back, and Matt Nielsens’  9:47.63 in the 1000 free.

On the women’s side, Indian River State won seven of the 16 events. Individual wins came from Barbara Caraballo (50 free, 100 fly, and 200 IM), Christina Loh (100 and 200 breast), and Ashley Wright (1m and 3m diving). Caraballos’ swim in the 200 IM of 2:04.63 produced a team-leading season best for that event, while Hannah Lynchs’ time of 10:46.12 in the 1000 free also produced a team-leading season best.

Indian River State will next compete in the Stanton C. Cragie Memorial Invitational this weekend at IRSC. This will be the final meet leading up to the NJCAA national championships that take place March 4-7 at Erie Community College in Buffalo, N.Y.