Daytona State sweeps men's, women's cross country championships

Daytona State College men's and women's cross country (photo courtesy of Michael Schwarz)
Daytona State College men's and women's cross country (photo courtesy of Michael Schwarz)

Men's Results| Women's Results | Men's Photo Gallery | Women's Photo Gallery

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (October 30, 2020) - Daytona State College became the first school to win both the men's and women's NJCAA Region 8/FCSAA State Cross Country Championships in the same season on Friday at Apalachee Regional Park.

Led by men's individual champion Andy Martinez, the Falcons had four of the top eight runners and finished with 28 points, easily outdistancing second-place Lake-Sumter State College, who had 54 points. Seminole State College finished third with 84 points, followed by Florida State College at Jacksonville and Tallahassee Community College. 

Martinez set a championship race record with a 26:01.2 in the 8K. Seminole State's Canaan St. Lewis was second in 26:38.2 followed by Daytona State's Adam Mastrobuono in third with a time of 27:02.4. Those three were joined by Alexander Croy (Lake-Sumter State), Richard Lebron (Daytona State), John Bear (Florida State College at Jacksonville) and Nicholas Atkinson (Lake-Sumter State) on the All-NJCAA Region 8/FCSAA All-State Team. 

The women's 5K was a hotly contested battle between Daytona State and four-time defending state champion Pasco-Hernando State College, as both teams placed three runners in the top seven. 

Visit Tallahassee Daytona State boasted state champion Harleigh Bilz, along with Sara Mott and Caitlyn Norfolk, who finished fifth and sixth, respectively, while Sydney Stoltzfoos was the Bobcats' top runner in third, along with fourth-place finisher Jensen Mayer and Katerina Dobkowski, who placed seventh. 

When the dust settled, it was Daytona State who came out on top with 36 points, two points better than Pasco-Hernando State. Florida State College finished third, followed by South Florida State College, Lake-Sumter State and Chipola College. 

Lake-Sumter State's Kyja Williams joined the Daytona State and Pasco-Hernando State trios on the All-NJCAA Region 8/FCSAA All-State team. 

Daytona State's Judy Wilson was named both the men's and women's Coach of the Year. 

Several of the teams will travel to Fort Dodge, Iowa, for next month's NJCAA Cross Country Championships and Half Marathon Championships.